Hurling Titles‎ > ‎Féile na nGael‎ > ‎

2010 Féile na nGael Hurling Final

Feile na nGael Div 3 Hurling Final Winners

Castletown-Geoghegan: 5-8            Ruan (Clare): 1-2

In Cusack Park in Clare on Sunday 20th June a powerful start by Westmeath side Castletown-Geoghegan laid the foundations for a comfortable win over a game Ruan side from Clare, in the final of Feile nGael Div3 hurling competition. A trio of first half goals from Liam Cassidy (2) and Paddy Doody set the winners on the way even though Ruan had half a dozen goal chances that went abegging in a half time scoreline of (3-4) to (0-1) that did scant justice to the efforts of the Clare side. Castletown-Geoghegan continued their dominance in the second half with early scores from Liam Cassidy, Cormac Deegan, the excellent Paddy Doody (goal), Johnny Bermingham and Shane Clavin before Conal O hAinifein scored a goal from a free.  A late goal from sub Andrew Corbett  sealed the win for the Westmeath outfit as the final whistle brought huge celebrations for the large Castletown  support.

CASTLETOWN-GEOGHEGAN: C Daly, P Doody (2-2), J. Fox,  M. Mealiffe,  B. Carey,  A.  Kincaid Capt, S. Fagan,  T. Moran,  S. Clavin (0-2), J. Bermingham(0-1), C. Glennon, L. Cassidy (2-1), C. Kane, C. Deegan (0-2), B. Heeney. Sub: L. McNally-Woods for Fox,   A. Corbett (1-0) for Doody, D. Glennon for Deegan, S Maher for Mealiffe, B McMahon for  Heeney.

Route to the Final:

Friday 18th June
Bradford  (Clare) 1-8 Castletown 2-10

Sat 19th June
Cratloe (Clare)  0-2 Castletown  3-12
Moytura (Mayo) 1-3  Castletown 2-11

Sat 19th June Semi Final
Craobh Rua Camlocha (Armagh) 0-0 Castletown 4-9

Sun 20th June Final
Ruan (Clare) 1-2  Castletown 5-8

The winning Castletown team mentors, Eamon McDonald, Benny McDonald & Joe Glennon, Cathal Daly, Conor Glennon, Sean Maher, James Fox, Shane Clavin, Morgan Mealiffe, Liam NcNally-Woods, Liam Cassidy, Joseph Fagan, William Hayes, Thomas Moran, Stephen Fagan,  Johnny Berminghan, Eoghan Mularkey, Andrew Corbet, Conor Kane, Brandon Carey, Alan Kincade Capt, Paddy Doody, Brendan McMahon,  Cormac Deegan, Pauric Kincade, Brendan Heeney & Dan Glennon.