Hurling Titles‎ > ‎Minor‎ > ‎

1968 Minor Hurling Title

The Castletown Geoghegan Minor team that won the Championship in 2002 bridged a gap of 34 years. It was in 1968 that the Minor Championship was last won by our club. The Castletown juvenile club was known as O'Raghallaighs that year.

The game was played on 11th Aug.1968 against Cullion and the final score was Castletown 612 and Cullion 14. The referee was Mr. Terry O'Dowd.

The team was as follows:- Myles Kirby, Tom Keegan, Brendan Jackson, Sean Corcoran, Christy Byrne, Willie Shanley (capt) Mick Garvin, Tommy Lowry, Gerry Whelan, Joe Cowley, Mick Jackson, Sean Fox, Stan Kiernan, Jimmy Hackett & Eamonn Clarke. Subs Pat Hughes, Dick Kelly, Paul Murtagh, Joe Fox, Gerry Byrne, Paddy Kelly, Frank Lyons, Gerry Kelly and John Hoare.

( If anyone has a photo of the team please get in touch with Christy Hickey)