Hurling Titles‎ > ‎Minor‎ > ‎

2004 Minor Hurling Title

In 2004 our minor team completed a three-in-a-row of Premier M.H.C. title successes, defeating Derravaragh Gaels, in a high scoring decider at Cusack Park. This was never before achieved
by our club. The team reached the final without a hitch.

The final was postponed to 3-10-2004 because Mick Garvin was on the Castletown senior team and several others were on the panel.

The big day arrived and our captain elected to play against the wind in the first half and the whole team settled early. By half time we were in a good position, leading by a margin of four points. The scoring power of Castletown proved decisive in the second half and they outscored their opponents by 0-10 to 0-3 to clinch a famous victory and cap a wonderful season for the Black and Ambers. The final score was 1-20 to 1-9.

This was a team success and each player had his moments.

After the games Michael Garvin proudly accepted the Ben Kelly Memorial Cup and was carried shoulder high from the field.

A remarkable feature of this team is that no fewer than 5 players played a full part in all three finals and 2 others played some part in the 2002 final and took full part in the 2003 and 2004 finals. The future of Castletown hurling is in safe hands for some years to come.

Team and Substitutes:
Patrick Maloney, Paul Kirby, Christy Maloney, Mick Kirby, Mick Dillon, Mick Garvin, Colm Mackey, David Langan ,Shane Carey, John Gallagher, Eddie O’Neill , Sean Whelan, Robbie Jackson, Mark McDermott, Eamonn Clarke. Substitutes: David Deegan for M. Dillon, James Duran for M. Kirby, Alan Garvin for Robbie
Jackson, Graham Jackson, Robert Burge, Mark McCormack, Gerry Clarke,