Hurling Titles‎ > ‎Senior‎ > ‎

1956 Senior Hurling Title

Castletown Geoghegan 3-9            Rickardstown 2-3

Castletown-Geoghegan won their second senior hurling championship title when they convincingly beat Rickardstown, 3-9 to 2-3, in this final, played at Cusack Park, on October 14th 1956.

It was an ideal day for hurling with only a puff of a breeze and after Father Fox threw in the ball Rickardstown attacked and "Jobber" McGrath had a point. Four minutes later Paddy Bolger was on hand to finish a Treacy effort to the net. Paddy Daly tagged on a point to leave it 1-1 to 0-1.

Both sides had wider before "Jobber" pointed a free which was quickly negatived by Declan O'Sullivan for Castletown. McGrath's accuracy brought Rickardstown another point to leave the half-time score, Castletown-Geo. 1-2, Rickardstown 0-3. The second-half started tamely but Castle-town soon found their feet and had a point from Stokes and Lar Daly added a goal. Castletown were masters now and O'Sullivan added another point. Then the tide turned. A Jim Carey free was finished to the net by Eamonn Murray in the 44th minute but, from the puck-out O'Sullivan placed Bolger for a point. Jimmy Dalton saved a rasper from Phil Reilly before Rickardstown had a goal disallowed. Back came Castletown and Stokes, after a solo run, pointed. Kirby added another to leave it 2-7 to 1-3. Still on the attack Stokes pointed again and
Rickardstown looked a beaten team.

But Rickardstown made a final effort and were rewarded with a Phil Reilly goal with about five minutes to go. Stokes pointed for Castletown and with time almost up Lar Daly shot to the net and that was that.

Scorers for Castletown: Lar Daly 2-0, Sean Stokes 0-4, Paddy Bolger 1-0, Declan O'Sullivan 0-2, Tommy Bolger, Mick Kirby and Paddy Daly 0-1 each.

Scores for Rickardstown: Eamon Murphy and Phil Reilly 1-0 each, “Jobber” McGrath 0-3.

Castletown: Jimmy Dalton, Christy Dalton, Dinny Kelly, Pat Jackson, Peter Dalton, Mick Dalton, Jack Treacy, Declan O'Sullivan, Tommy Bolger, Mick Kirby, Peter Treacy, Sean Stokes, Willie Dowling, Lar Daly, Paddy Bolger.

Rickardstown: Michael Forde, Paddy Byrne, John Boyhan, Andy Cosgrave, Danny Forde, John McGrath, Mick Williams, Jimmy Carey, Jimmy McGrath, Eugene Murray, Hughie McGrath, Tommy Byrne, Hugh McGrath, Phil Reilly,Danny Mulligan.

(Teams as selected prior to the final). Referee: Eamonn Moynihan.