Hurling Titles‎ > ‎Senior‎ > ‎

1957 Senior Hurling Title

Castletown 2-10            Collinstown 4-3

Castletown-Geo. retained their title in this close fought and always entertaining Senior hurling final, played at Cusack Park, on October 6th, 1957. This was a wonderful game of sporting hurling from which vanquished Castletown emerged glorious as the victors. Right up to the final whistle the issue was in doubt and then, like true sportsmen winners and losers clasped hands at the end of a thrilling hour.

Collinstown with wind advantage were first to score when Jimmy Daly sent a rasper to the Castletown net. In the fifth minute Sean Stokes opened Castletown's account with a point. Mickey Weldon exchanged a point with Mick Kirby before Noel Corcoran, in the 19th minute, reduced the Collinstown lead.

In the 21st minute Billy Jessop pointed Collinstown further ahead but Paddy Bolger replied, in the 24th and 25th minutes, with a goal and a point for the champions. In the 28th minute Steve Bolger had a Castletown point but, just on half-time, Willie Weldon crashed a rolling ball to the Castletown net to leave the score at half-time: CastletownGeo. 1-5, Collinstown 2-2.

A Mick Kirby point put Castletown ahead again in the 35th minute and Mick Bolger added another point before Willie Weldon, in the 40th, minute had Collinstown's third goal to put the challengers a point in front. A minute later Mick Bolger wiped out the lead and, in the 43rd minute the same player put them ahead with a well taken goal. Sean Stokes had a 49th minute Castletown point, Mick Bolger added a point and their title looked safe. But Collinstown had other ideas.

Eddie Cruise goaled from a free in the 52nd minute and two minutes later Billy Jessop had a point. While the challengers fought valiantly for the equaliser the champions defense stood four square and held out in a welter of excitement.

Castletown-Geo.: Jimmy Dalton, Christy Dalton, Lar Daly, Pat Jackson, Peter Dalton, Mick Dalton, Jack Treacy, Noel Corcoran, Tommy Bolger, Stephen Bolger, Sean Stokes Mick Kirby, Mick Bolger, Roger O'Brien, Paddy Bolger. Sub. Brendan McLavin.

Collinstown: Jimmy Casserly, Pat Masterson, Jim Alward, Billy Corrigan, Eddie Daly, Seamus Gavagan, Eddie Cruise, John Cruise, Pat Hughes, Mickey Weldon, Dome Weldon, Billy Masterson, Billy Jessop, Jimmy Daly, Willie Weldon. 

Referee: Tommy Boyle (Galway)