Hurling Titles‎ > ‎Senior‎ > ‎

1958 Senior Hurling Title

Castletown 4-4        Castlepollard 1-2

CASTLETOWN-GEOGHEGAN senior hurlers captured the coveted "three-in-a-row" with a 4-4 to 1-2 win over Castlepollard in this final, played at Cusack Park,on August 31st 1958.

Castlepollard got away to a flying start and had a Joe Fagan point in the fifth minute. Aidan Gilvarry added a goal and the black and ambers were in trouble. Responding in style to the challenge Castletown opened their scoring with a Tommy Bolger point in the twelfth minute. Seven minutes of clear Castletown supremacy was rewarded when Sean Kirby had a goal to equalise.

In the 25th minute Paddy Bolger had the champion's second goal with Tommy Ring replying with a Castlepollard point. From that to half-time the Bolger brothers were rampant and points from Steve (28th minute), Tommy (29th minute) and Steve again in the 30th minute left the champions in front, 2-4 to 1-2, at the break.

A minute into the second half Steve Bolger had Castletown's third goal and, even though Castlepollard rallied a little, they lacked the power to penetrate a firm Castletown defense. The last score of the game came when a shot by Paddy Bolger rebounded off the upright and Louis Murphy was on the spot to finish to the net.

Castletown-Geo.: Jimmy Dalton, Pat Jackson, Christy Dalton, Lar Daly, Peter Dalton, Mick Dalton, Sean
Stokes, Noel Corcoran, Tommy Bolger(0-2), Sean Kirby(1-0), Stephen Bolger (1-2), Tony O’Brien, Mick Bolger, Louis Murphy (1-0) and Paddy Bolger (1-0)

Castlepollard: Sean Kennedy, Moss Finglas, Kevin Nea, Anthony Carty, Willie Hynes, Danny Devine, Tom Fagan, Pat Devine, Paddy McCabe, Tommy Ring (0-1), Mick McCormack, Joe Fagan (0-1), Sean Cunningham, Frank Devine, Aidan Gilvarry (1-0).