Hurling Titles‎ > ‎


1998 U-12 Co Final

Castletown Geoghegan 2-1            Castlepollard 0-1

The Fe 12 team travelled to Dublin on 4th July 1998 to take part in a tournament. We played 3 games, drawing with Erin’s Isle and beating Fingallians and Mount Leinster Rangers. This was great experience for our young players and played a big part in the team’s success in the championship.

Having powered their way through the earlier rounds of the championship the opposition in the final was Castlepollard .The game was played on 9 th Sept. and ended in a draw, 1-3 to 2-0. The replay was fixed for Robinstown on 19th Sept. Castletown struck the first blow when the sliotar from a free taken by Christy Maloney went all the way to the Castlepollard net. The foundation for victory was laid in the first half, when a six point lead was built up. Ian McDonald replaced the injured David Langan after half time. Remarkably, neither team scored in the second half. The final score was 2-1 to 0-1 and the captain Michael Garvin proudly received the Paddy Monaghan Shield.

Team and substitutes: Patrick Maloney, Michael Kirby. Mick Garvin (Capt.), Mark McDermott, John Gallagher, Eddie O’Neill, Christy Maloney(1-0), Shane Carey, David Langan , Paul Kirby, Sean Whelan, Michael Dillon, Robbie Jackson (0-1), Anthony Kelly, Eamonn Clarke (1-0), Ian McDonald, Davin Clarke, Alan Garvin ,John Kelly, Gerry Clarke , Graham Jackson , Danny Fielding ,Daniel Kirby, David Lynam, Michael O'Neill.