Hurling Titles‎ > ‎U-21‎ > ‎

1970 U-21 Hurling Final

Castletown-Geoghegan 2-8, St Brigid's 1-5.

The replay of the 1970 U21 hurling final, played at Cusack Park, in May 1971 provided patrons with an exciting and action packed game, as Castletown went on to take the only title they had not already added to their glistening honours list, with an impressive 2-8 to 1-5 victory. The match report states that, "Not for some time has such exciting fare been witnessed at the venue as the finalists served up a helping of entertaining hurling which belied the inclement weather conditions which prevailed." For Castletown, Mick
Jackson gave an impeccable display in the goals. Brendan Jackson shone at right corner back. Sean Corcoran was a tower of strength at full back. Willie Shanley again showed his class with a really brilliant performance. Man of the match, Gerry Whelan at centre field, turned in a performance reminiscent of his college displays. In attack, Paddy Kelly, Eamonn Clarke, Mick Garvin and Myles Kirby were most effective, creating some good opportunities.

Scorers for Castletown— Gerry Whelan 1-7, Myles Kirby 1-0, Eamon Clarke 0-1.

The Castletown team on that day was - Mick Jackson, Brendan Jackson, Sean Corcoran, Sean Keegan, Roger Garvin, Willie Shanley, Christy Byrne, Tommy Lowry, Gerry Whelan, Paddy Kelly, Michael Garvin, Sean Fox, Myles Kirby, Noel Geraghty, Eamon Clarke.

St Brigid's—0. Gallagher, T. Carey, P O'Brien, P. Bradley, V. Bagnall, R. Bradley, R. Quirke, V. Bradley, P.Eighan, J. Nath, L. Maher, A. Gavin, N. Maher, G. Gately, T. Colgan.

Referee—Mr T. O'Dowd, Mullingar.