Hurling Titles‎ > ‎U-21‎ > ‎

1974 U-21 Hurling Final

Castletown-Geoghegan 2-3, Castlepollard 0-4.

On Sunday November 10th 1974, on a soggy Cusack Park, in miserable conditions, Castletown retained the U21 title that they won twelve months earlier. The match report states that, "The teams were not deterred by the weather and one had to admire their enthusiasm and their mastery of the conditions that gave a good tough game of stamina sapping hurling with the issue in the balance until about five minutes from the end." Castletown had an ultra safe goalkeeper in Ger Jackson and fronting him was a sound trio
in Gerry Costelloe and the Garvin brothers, Roger and Matt. Willie Lowry dominated at centre half back and he got more than adequate support from Scan Mangan and Mick Connell. Finbar Clarke and Tom Kincaid, at centre field, kept the forwards active. Martin Masterson was masterful at centre half forward and with Eamonn Clarke and Matt Kirby they created havoc in the 'Pollard defence. The full forward line of Dessie Costelloe, Paddy O'Reilly and Eamonn Corcoran were always in a threatening position.

Scorers for Castletown. Des Costelloe 1-1, Eamon Corcoran 1-0, Eamon Clarke 0-2.

Castletown were represented by: Ger Jackson, Gerry Costelloe, Roger Garvin, Matt Garvin, Scan Mangan, Willy Lowry, Mick Connell, Tom Kincaid, Finbar Clarke, Matt Kirby, Martin Masterson, Eamon Clarke, Paddy O'Reilly, Dessie Costelloe and Eamon Corcoran.

Castlepollard: Jimmy Melia, Pat Smith, Declan Brennan, Pat Halligan, Mick McGlynn, Tee Lynch, Tony Bruton, Michael Kearney, Scan Farrell, Michael Carroll, Eugene Fagan, Pat Grimes, Paddy Reilly, Liam Higgins, Matt German.

Sub: Gerry Coyne. Referee, Mr Jimmy Henry, Brownstown.

Mr Denis Coyne, Chairman of the County Board, presented the trophy to Eamon Clarke, captain of the winning team.