Hurling Titles‎ > ‎U-21‎ > ‎

1980 U-21 Hurling Final

Castletown-Geoghegan 4-14, Raharney 1-4.

Having been beaten in the finals of 1978 and 1979, Castletown made it third time lucky in the 1980 final, played in Delvin on Sunday November 2nd. Castletown, backboned by five members of the previous years senior championship winning side, were far too experienced for the younger Raharney side and were in complete control throughout. Pat Dalton, was described as the kingpin of the attack, playing a real captain's part. It was however a team victory in which each member contributed handsomely.

Goalie, Aiden Costelloe, never put a stick wrong in the hour. In front of him he had a commanding full back line in Francis and Scan Dalton and Finian O'Brien. Pat O'Brien had an outstanding game on the half back line. He was ably assisted by Peter Kirby and Gerry Daly. Stephen Hanratty and Larry Groome were commanding figures at midfield. Apart from Pat Dalton, Castletown had impressive forwards in the youthful Kieran Kirby, Christy Groome and Joe Clarke. Pat Kirby's well taken goal just before half time was
described as a crucial score.

Castletown scorers: Pat Dalton 1-10, Joe Clarke 1-2, Kieran Kirby 1-1, Pat Kirby 1-0, Stephen Hanratty 0-1.

Castletown team: Aidan Costelloe, Francis Dalton, Scan Dalton, Finian O'Brien, Gerry Daly, Peter Kirby, Pat O'Brien, Larry Groome, Stephen Hanratty, Pat Dalton, Christy Groome, Kieran Kirby, Joe Clarke, Frank Groome and Pat Kirby. Raharney: Noel Greville, Noel Boyle, John McManus, Aidan Doyle, Johnny
Murray, Declan Murray, Billy Boyle, Loughlin McHugh, Oliver Doyle, Michael Farrelly, Tommy Raleigh, John Brennan, Michael Smith, Victor Shiels and Robert Cannon.

Referee—Mr Paddy Casey, Clonkill.

After the game the Chairman of the County Board, Mr P.J. Fullam, presented the cup to Pat Dalton, captain of the winning team.