Hurling Titles‎ > ‎U-21‎ > ‎

1991 U-21 Hurling Final

St Michael's 2-12, Oliver Plunkett's 1-5.

St Michael's, a selection from the Castletown-Geoghegan, Fr Dalton's and St Brigid's clubs, won the 1991 U21 Hurling Final by defeating Oliver Plunkett's in Cusack Park on Sunday August 24th .The all round superiority of St Michael's was based on a sound defence with the goalkeeper, John Jackson, Peter Dalton, Padraig Dalton and Michael Carley particularly effective. Joe Fagan, Declan Hogan and Owen McCabe gave good support. The Corcoran brothers, John and Patrick, were a sound midfield pairing. The half forward line of Brendan Hogg, Kevin Kirby and Christy Colgan all put their names on the scoring list. While Noel Gavin, Philip Kirby and Kevin Jackson were a hard working full forward line. Subs, John Hogg, Stephen Murphy and Martin Maher all performed well when introduced.

Scorers for St Michael's: Kevin Kirby 1-2, Brendan Hogg 0-5, Christy Colgan 1-1, John Corcoran, Patrick Corcoran, Padraig Dalton and Peter Dalton 0-1 each.

Castletown were represented by—John Jackson, Declan Hogan, Joe Fagan, Padraig Dalton, Owen McCabe, Peter Dalton, Michael Carley, Patrick Corcoran, (Captain), John Corcoran, Brendan Hogg, Kevin Kirby, Christy Colgan, Kevin Jackson, Philip Kirby, Noel Gavin. Subs used—Stephen Murphy, Martin Maher and John Hogg.

Oliver Plunkett's—David Cornally, Jude Whelehan, Declan O'Brien, Peter Cassidy, Robert Cornally, Patrick Boyce, John Flanagan, Noel Nugent, Eddie Casey, David Purcell, Paul Moran, Barry Kelly, Christy Lynch, John Daly, Ciaran Smith.

Referee—Mr James Cribben, Clonkill.