Hurling Titles‎ > ‎U-21‎ > ‎

1996 U-21 Hurling Title

Castletown-Geoghegan 1-10, Lough Lene Gaels 0-8.

Operating as a close knit unit, with each and every player determined to play to the very best of his ability, Castletown-Geoghegan won the 1996 Westmeath U21 hurling championship final at Cusack Park, on the first Sunday of November 1996. The newspaper account of the match tells us that - "Goalkeeper Alan Mangan was brave and sure. He was fronted by a very solid full back line in which comer backs, Philip Dalton and Niall O'Brien gave little away. David Neary, at full back, had a tremendous game demonstrating all the skills a full back should have. Captain and centre halfback, Derek Gallagher, was quite superb, with his lengthy striking from play and sideline pucks frequently putting Castletown on the offensive. Wing backs Ronan Corcoran and Gary Jackson worked hard throughout. Playing in his first U21 game, sixteen years old John Brennan helped to give the winners a midfield edge. His midfield partner, lan Corrigan grafted hard and was rewarded for his efforts when he pointed his team into the lead for the first time in the match. Over the hour, Keith Gorry was probably Castletown's most consistent performer.

Patrick Clarke was very accurate from frees and needed constant watching. His brother, Fintan, had a definite role to play to try to curb the talents of Christo Murtagh and he hurled with such great heart that he succeeded in preventing the Gaels number six from becoming the key player on the field. Ollie Kirby won vital possession as well as scoring a fine point. Matthew McCormack kept the ball moving at all times while Ollie Dalton was unlucky not to register a score.

Scorers for Castletown—Pat Clarke 0-7, Gary Jackson 1-1, Ollie Kirby 0-1, lan Corrigan 0-1, Castletown -Alan Mangan, Niall O'Brien, David Neary, Philip Dalton, Ronan Corcoran, Derek Gallagher, Gary Jackson, John Brennan, lan Corrigan, Matthew McCormack, Fintan Clarke, Keith Gorry, Pat Clarke, Ollie Kirby, Ollie Dalton. Subs used—Benny Bolger and Michael Fox.
Lough Lene Gaels—Brian Conaty, Darren Mortimer, Michael Murtagh, Patsy Williams, Mark Briody, Christo Murtagh, Martin Williams Darren Fitzpatrick,John Murtagh, Paul Molloy, Ollie O'Farrell, Alan Murray, Peter Walsh, Gary Briody, Martin Gavigan.